W&L Women's Cross Country Wins ODAC Championship

W&L Women's Cross Country Wins ODAC Championship

BUENA VISTA, Va. — The Washington and Lee women's cross country team placed five runners in the Top 14 on its way to winning the 2016 ODAC Championship on Saturday at the Buena Vista Golf Course.

The Generals totaled 38 points and bested second-place Roanoke (67 points) by 29 points to claim their second straight conference title. Eastern Mennonite finished third with 103 points.

Senior Kerri Dalton of Roanoke was the individual winner out of 93 runners with a time of 22:39.10 on the 6k course. W&L sophomore Samantha Yates (Birmingham, Ala./St. Paul's School) was second in 22:53.30 to earn First Team All-ODAC accolades. Sophomore Maggie Seybold (Cockeysville, Md./McDonogh School) claimed third (23:19.40) to join Yates on the first team. Sophomore Kirsten McMichael (Eighty Four, Pa./Ringgold) garnered Second Team All-ODAC accolades by taking eighth in 23:44.40.

First-year Julia Moody (Houston, Texas/St. John's School) also earned a spot on the second team, and she was named the ODAC Rookie of the Year by finishing 11th (24:07.80). Moody is the seventh runner in program history to be named the Rookie of the Year. Yates secured the honor in 2015. First-year Katie Bearup (Arvada, Colo./Ralston Valley) rounded out the scoring and earned a spot on the second team by claiming 14th (24:20.30).  

Junior Rachel Steffen (Coronado, Calif./Coronado) crossed the finish line in 19th with a time of 24:35.90. Sophomore Kristi Miluski (Tall Timbers, Md./Leonardtown) was 34th (25:47.30), first-year Ellie Bradach (Roswell, Ga./Wesleyan) took 45th (26:48.70), first-year Abby Keller (Netcong, N.J./Pope John XXIII) placed 53rd (27:35.50), sophomore Bailey Sanders (Powell, Wyo./Powell) claimed 56th (27:56.20) and senior Maggie Dick (Pepper Pike, Ohio/Gilmour Academy) was 79th (31:24.00).

This marks the 16th ODAC championship for the Blue and White. It is the first time the team has won back-to-back titles since winning five straight from 2004-08. Following the meet, head coach Michael Dager was named the Coach the Year for the second straight season.

The Generals next compete at the NCAA South/Southeast Regional hosted by Berry on Saturday, November 12 at 10:00 am.

-- www.generalssports.com --