Annelise Madison Earns ODAC's Marjorie Berkley Award

Annelise Madison Earns ODAC's Marjorie Berkley Award

FOREST, Va. — Washington and Lee senior track and field and cross country athlete Annelise Madison (Roca, Neb./Norris) was selected as the recipient of the Marjorie Berkley Award as announced by the Old Dominion Athletic Conference on Monday. The honor is presented to the league's top female scholar-athlete.  Guilford baseball player John Macon Smith was tabbed the winner of the Harry G. "Doc" Jopson Award as the top male scholar-athlete.

Madison is a four-year letter winner on both the track and field and cross country teams, while also serving as a captain for both squads this season. In cross country, she finished fifth at the conference championship meet as a sophomore and senior, and qualified for the 2013 NCAA Championship meet after placing fifth at the NCAA Regional this fall. At the national championship, Madison finished 143rd out of 280 runners, which marked the best finish by a General at the national meet since Elizabeth Webb '09 finished 115th at the 2008 championship.

A politics and history double major, Madison earned the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar Athlete Award four times over her career, including the cross country, the indoor and the outdoor track and field honors in 2013-14.

In her four seasons on the track, Madison was a four-year All-ODAC honoree for both the indoor and outdoor seasons, winning the ODAC title in the indoor mile twice (2012 and 2014). She holds three school records, including the indoor 800 meters, the outdoor 1,500 meters and as a member of the indoor 4x800 relay team, while also recording five runner-up finishes at ODAC Championship meets.

Madison recently garnered Capital One Academic All-District honors for the second time in her career, and was named W&L's William D. McHenry Female Scholar-Athlete Award winner this year. She is the Generals' eighth all-time recipient of the Berkley Award, and the first since Emmy Mathews '11 garnered the recognition in 2011.

Inaugurated in 1981 and 1984, respectively, the Harry G. "Doc" Jopson and Marjorie Berkley Scholar-Athlete Awards are given each June to member college seniors and conference sport participants who exhibit the highest athletic, academic and extracurricular achievements. Ms. Berkley began her collegiate teaching career at Lynchburg College.  Several years later, Ms. Berkley moved to Hollins University where she coached tennis, field hockey and soccer, and served as the athletic director for 30 years.  The Jopson Award is named in honor of the Bridgewater College professor and coach who retired in 1981 following 45 years at BC. Dr. Jopson, who initiated and directed the Eagles' cross country and track programs, led his teams to ODAC indoor track titles in 1979, 1980 and 1981, and outdoor crowns in 1978 through 1981.

-- --