W&L Women's Tennis Claims the 2007 NCAA National Championship

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. -- The Washington and Lee women's tennis team posted a 5-2 win over Amherst College to secure the NCAA Division III National Championship in Fredericksburg, Va.

This is the first team title for the program and the first at W&L since men's tennis won the crown in 1988.

The Generals (25-1) took a 2-1 lead following the doubles competition after the duo of sophomore Katie Tabb (Minneapolis, Minn./Edina) and senior Ginny Wortham (Richmond, Va./Collegiate) and the pair of freshman Lauren Caire (Nashville, Tenn./Harpeth Hall) and junior Leah Weston (Colorado Springs, Colo./Air Academy) won at No. 2 and No. 3 doubles, respectively.

Junior Kelly Will (Holly Springs, N.C./Cary Academy) won No. 4 singles, 6-0, 6-2, and senior Emily Applegate (Charleston, S.C./Porter-Gaud) took the No. 1 singles match, 6-2, 6-2, to give W&L a 4-1 advantage. Amherst's Brittany Berckes took No. 2 singles, but Tabb closed out No. 3 singles, 7-6 (8-6), 6-2, to give the Generals the title.


Tennis Match Results
Amherst College vs Washington and Lee
May 17, 2007 at Mary Washington

Washington and Lee 5, Amherst College 2

Singles competition:
1. Emily Applegate (W&L) def. Alicia Menezes (AMHERST) 6-2, 6-1
2. Brittany Berckes (AMHERST) def. Ginny Wortham (W&L) 6-3, 6-2
3. Katie Tabb (W&L) def. Monica Snyder (AMHERST) 7-6, 6-2
4. Kelly Will (W&L) def. Jennifer Murphy (AMHERST) 6-0, 6-2
5. Kristen McClung (W&L) vs. Katie Hudson (AMHERST) 7-5, 0-0, unfinished
6. Leah Weston (W&L) vs. Laura Stein (AMHERST) 5-7, 3-0, unfinished

Doubles competition:
1. Alicia Menezes/Brittany Berckes (AMHERST) def. Emily Applegate/Kristen McClung (W&L) 8-3
2. Katie Tabb/Ginny Wortham (W&L) def. Katie Hudson/Jill Wexler (AMHERST) 8-5
3. Leah Weston/Lauren Caire (W&L) def. Jennifer Murphy/Laura Stein (AMHERST) 8-2

Match Notes:
Amherst College 18-5
Washington and Lee 25-1

Order of finish:
Doubles (3,1,2); Singles (4,1,2,3)

NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championship
W&L Wins First NCAA Women's Tennis Championship