IWLCA Announces 2009 Individual Academic Squads

IWLCA Announces 2009 Individual Academic Squads

GRAND LAKE, Colo. – The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association recently announced its Individual Academic Squads for the 2008-09 academic year. 

Washington and Lee’s Kelsi Robinson (West Chester, Pa./Westtown), a 2009 graduate, and senior Meredith Freeman (St. Louis, Mo./MICDS) were among the 407 student-athletes recognized at 152 institutions across all NCAA divisions for achieving a grade-point average of 3.5 or better with at least a junior academic standing.

Kristin Schwab of Princeton (Division I), Julie Kraus of Southern New Hampshire (Division II) and Anna Ford of Elizabethtown College (Division III) were selected the IWLCA Scholar-Athletes of the Year in their respective NCAA Divisions.

A midfielder who earned degrees in Spanish and psychology, Robinson totaled 41 points (22 G, 19 A) during the 2009 season en route to earning First Team All-ODAC and Third Team All-America honors.  The 2009 ODAC/Farm Bureau Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Robinson completed her W&L career ranked second all-time in assists (101) and fourth all-time in points (205).

Freeman is a German and business administration double-major, who finished fourth on the team in scoring last spring with 39 points on 30 goals and nine assists.  She started 17 games at attacker and received Honorable Mention All-ODAC laurels.  Freeman will enter her senior campaign with 77 career points (60 G, 17 A).

Washington and Lee completed the 2009 season with a 13-5 overall record and a 7-1 conference mark.  The Generals advanced to the ODAC Championship game before falling to Roanoke College, 11-9.