Morse and Cobb Receive IHSA National Academic Awards

Morse and Cobb Receive IHSA National Academic Awards

LEXINGTON, Va. – The Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) recently announced its 2011-12 National Academic Award winners and Washington and Lee had two riders recognized on the first team.

Seniors Tamara Morse (Bristow, Va./Brentsville) and Camille Cobb (Huntersville, N.C./Harding University) were among 158 riders nationwide to receive first team accolades.  Both were repeat selections to the first team after claiming the award last season as well.

Morse completed a stellar career that included four First Team All-ODAC citations and three selections as the ODAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  The two-time regional winner of the Cacchione Cup, she finished second in the open flat and fourth in the national Cacchione Cup competition at the 2012 IHSA National Championships in Raleigh, N.C.

Cobb also received first team all-academic honors for the second straight year.  She proved to be one of the Generals' top riders in the walk-trot events all year long, finishing fifth at the IHSA Regionals back in February.

The purpose of the IHSA National All-Academic Award is to recognize the individual academic achievements of participating undergraduate and alumni members each year.  Those named to the first team have a cumulative grade-point average (GPA) of 3.8 or higher, while a 3.5 cumulative GPA is required for second team honors.

A nominee must be a full-time undergraduate student or an alumni rider who is a paid member of the IHSA and must have participated in a minimum of two regular season IHSA horse shows during the academic year.

-- --