W&L Men's Track & Field Garners All-Academic Honors from USTFCCCA

W&L Men's Track & Field Garners All-Academic Honors from USTFCCCA

NEW ORLEANS — The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) released the Division III Men's Scholar Athletes of the Year, the All-Academic individuals and the All-Academic Teams on Thursday and Friday, and six Washington and Lee athletes received All-Academic recognition. W&L also garnered 2017 All-Academic Team honors.

Recent graduates Jack Jones (Lookout Mountain, Ga./McCallie School), Jake Roberts (Kansas City, Mo./The Barstow School), Patrick Robertson (Norfolk, Va./Norfolk Academy) and Mac Strehler (Moseley, Va./Trinity Episcopal School), along with rising senior MacKenzye Leroy (Port Jervis, N.Y./Port Jervis) and rising junior Cooper Baird (Fort Worth, Texas/Fort Worth Country Day) all earned individual All-Academic status.

As a team, the Generals posted a 3.47 overall grade-point average. W&L won both the indoor and outdoor ODAC Championships this season. They were the first conference titles for the program since 1989 and marked the first time the team swept both championships since 1988. A total of 111 men's teams were recognized by the USTFCCCA and 402 individuals earned All-Academic honors.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, a student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade-point average of 3.30 or higher and have met either of the following athletic standards: a student-athlete must have competed in an NCAA Indoor or Outdoor Championship or finished the regular season ranked in the national Top 35 in an individual event or ranked in the national Top 25 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by TFRRS.org.

To be recognized as an All-Academic Team, a squad must accumulate a team GPA of at least 3.10.

Deko Ricketts of Washington University of St. Louis was named the Indoor and Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year, Robert Eason of Rhodes was the Indoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year and Theron Baumann of UW-Whitewater garnered the Outdoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year award.

-- www.generalssports.com --