W&L Men's Tennis Tops ODAC Preseason Coaches Poll

W&L Men's Tennis Tops ODAC Preseason Coaches Poll

FOREST, Va. – The Old Dominion Athletic Conference released its 2011 preseason coaches poll for men's tennis and Washington and Lee was picked to finish first among the 10 schools that sponsor the sport.

The Generals received eight of the 10 first-place votes and totaled 98 points to finish six points ahead of Hampden-Sydney, which garnered 92 points and the other two first-place votes.  Bridgewater was third with 78 points and was followed by Roanoke (66 pts.), Guilford (59 pts.), Emory & Henry (52 pts.), Virginia Wesleyan (37 pts.), Lynchburg (27 pts.), Randolph-Macon (26 pts.) and Randolph (15 pts.).

The defending ODAC Champions, W&L returns six of its eight all-conference players from a season ago headlined by sophomore Hayden White (Baltimore, Md./Towson), who earned All-America honors after posting a 23-11 singles record and a 17-8 doubles mark.  He was also a First Team All-ODAC honoree in singles and doubles and was named the ODAC Rookie of the Year.

Junior Jeremy Becht (Woodstock, Ga./Etowah) was the 2009 ODAC Rookie of the Year and an All-ODAC honoree in both singles (14-9) and doubles (17-8) last season.

Junior Michael Freeman (Portland, Ore./Jesuit) also returns as a two-time All-ODAC selection, posting second team honors a year ago when he went 17-6 in singles.

Senior captain Will Hall (Cape Elizabeth, Maine/Cape Elizabeth) was a first team all-conference pick in both singles (17-8) and doubles (17-10) last spring, while junior Mac Davis (Prospect, Ky./Kentucky Country Day) was a first-teamer in doubles (16-7) and a second-teamer in singles (10-13).  Junior Jonathan Gaffney (Cincinnati, Ohio/St. Xavier) rounds out the all-conference returnees after he recorded Second Team honors in doubles (9-12) as a sophomore.  He was a Second Team All-ODAC pick in singles and a first team selection as a first-year in 2009.

Washington and Lee opens its spring schedule on February 26 when it hosts Bridgewater for a 10:30 am match.