ODAC Announces All-Conference Men's Lacrosse Awards

ODAC Announces All-Conference Men's Lacrosse Awards

SALEM, Va. – The Old Dominion Athletic Conference announced its men’s lacrosse all-conference awards on Wednesday afternoon and Washington and Lee had six players honored.

Senior attackman Will Keigler (Timonium, Md./Gilman) and senior midfielder Kevin Feeney (Summit, N.J./Summit) were both named to the first team, while senior midfielder Logan Bartlett (Summit, N.J./Pingry School), senior defenseman Tyler Smith (Baltimore, Md./St. Paul’s) and first-year defenseman Joe LaSala (Wilton, Conn./Wilton) were all selected to the second team.  Junior defenseman Austin Wernecke (Lutherville, Md./Boys’ Latin) was an honorable mention selection.

Keigler received first team accolades for the second-straight season after leading the team and ranking third in the conference in scoring with 63 points on 29 goals and 34 assists.  He completed his career ranked sixth all-time at W&L with 212 points (102 G, 110 A) and was one of just four players with 100 goals and 100 assists for his career.

Feeney earned his first career postseason honor after being selected to the first team as a short-stick specialist.  He finished fourth in the conference in faceoff percentage (85-147, .578) and tallied 13 points on 12 goals and one assist.  For his career, Feeney totaled 29 goals and six assists and he ranks second all-time with a .645 career faceoff percentage.

Bartlett also garnered his first career honor after returning from an injury as a junior to finish second on the team in scoring with 28 points on 24 goals and four assists.  He completed his career with 32 goals and nine assists.

Smith was named to the second team for the second-straight season after starting all 17 games for a defense that is tied for 14th in Division III, allowing an average of just 6.71 goals per game.  He notched 33 ground balls and caused 22 turnovers for the season and finished his career with 107 ground balls.

LaSala started all 17 games as well during his rookie season, finishing first on the team with 40 caused turnovers, notching 26 ground balls and scoring one goal.

Wernecke earned honorable mention accolades for the second time in his career after posting HM honors as a first-year.  He also started all 17 games on the defense and finished with 34 ground balls and 17 caused turnovers.

Hampden-Sydney midfielder Kyle Jett was named the ODAC Player and ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete of the Year, while Lynchburg first-year midfielder Max Voumard received the Rookie of the Year Award.  Roanoke mentor Bill Pilat was lauded as the Coach of the Year.

Washington and Lee completed the 2010 season with an 11-6 overall record and a 4-3 mark in ODAC play.  The Generals advanced to the semifinals of the ODAC Tournament where they were defeated by Roanoke College, 15-7.