Three Generals Earn All-ODAC Men's Golf Honors

Three Generals Earn All-ODAC Men's Golf Honors

FOREST, Va. – The Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) released its 2014 all-conference men's golf team on Tuesday and three members of the Washington and Lee team were among those honored.

First-year golfers Conley Hurst (Little Rock, Ark. / Episcopal) and Todd Alan McDonald (Little Rock, Ark. / Little Rock Christian) were both named to the second team, while junior Patrick Clossin (Ooltewah, Tenn. / McCallie School) was selected to the third team.

Hurst finished in a first-place tie out of 49 golfers at the 2014 ODAC Championship, carding a 77-72-73—222.  He lost in a playoff to Guilford's Tanner Gross for individual medalist honors.  Hurst finished his rookie campaign with a team-best 75.6 stroke average across 20 rounds played.

McDonald finished 19th at the conference championship event with an 86-81-79—246.  He posted a 77.7 stroke average over 20 rounds this year.

Clossin placed 12th at the ODAC Championship this spring, carding an 81-77-78—236.  He finished the 2014 season with a 77.6 scoring average across 17 rounds.  A three-time Third Team All-ODAC honoree, Clossin finished sixth at the ODAC Championship as a sophomore and 11th as a rookie in 2012.

Hampden-Sydney senior Rick O'Connell was named the ODAC Player of the Year and H-SC's Mac Main was selected as the ODAC Coach of the Year.  Guilford junior Nick Shedd was tabbed the ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Quaker Tanner Gross was named the ODAC Rookie of the Year.  Randolph-Macon junior Bobby Bradshaw was honored with the Ted Keller Sportsmanship Award.

-- --