ODAC Announces All-Conference Football Team

ODAC Announces All-Conference Football Team

FOREST, Va. – The Old Dominion Athletic Conference announced its 2013 all-conference football team on Tuesday and Washington and Lee claimed 10 selections, including the Rookie of the Year.

First-year running back Marshall Hollerith (Richmond, Va. / St. Christopher's) earned second team honors in addition to claiming the ODAC's Rookie of the Year Award.

Senior offensive linemen Connor Hollenbeck (Alpharetta, Ga. / Alpharetta) and Bobby Jones (Lynchburg, Va. / Heritage) were both selected to the first team for the second straight year, while Hollerith was joined on the second team by senior running back Luke Terna (Wheaton, Ill. / Benet Academy) and junior offensive lineman Micah Fleet (Cordova, Tenn. / Christian Brothers).  Seniors Mark Burlee (Richmond, Va. / St. Christopher's), Michael Unholz (Glen Allen, Va. / Douglas Freeman), Peter Partee (Richmond, Va. / St. Christopher's) and Mitchell Thompson (Memphis, Tenn. / Memphis University School), along with sophomore Jake Barr (Upper Saddle River, N.J. / Northern Highlands Regional) were all named to the third team.

Hollerith rushed for a team-best 1,021 yards and 13 touchdowns on just 209 carries during the season.  He amassed six 100-yard rushing games and finished fourth in the conference in both rushing (102.1 ypg) and scoring (7.8 ppg).

Hollenbeck and Jones headlined an offensive line that paved the way for an average of 346.7 rushing yards per game, third-best in Division III.  For Hollenbeck, it was the fourth all-conference honor of his career.  He was an honorable mention selection as a rookie, a second team honoree as a sophomore and a first team selection the last two years.  Hollenbeck played in all 42 games during his career, starting each of the last 40 contests.

Jones repeated as a first team member after posting third team honors following his sophomore campaign.  He also became a starter midway through his rookie season and was a fixture in the starting lineup for every game in which he played.

Fleet received second team recognition after garnering third team honors following the 2012 season.  He has played in all 31 games of his career to date, starting every game each of the last two seasons.

Terna garnered his first all-conference citation after being named to the second team as an all-purpose back.  He played in nine games as a running back and quarterback, totaling 705 yards rushing and six touchdowns on 104 carries.  He also caught a team-best seven passes for 59 yards and was 0-for-2 passing.  He completed his career with 927 yards and seven touchdowns rushing, 14 catches for 149 yards and 5-of-12 passing for 26 yards.

Burlee started all 10 games on the defensive line, finishing with 35 tackles. Including 6.0 tackles for a loss (-19).  He also had one sack (-6), two pass breakups and one fumble recovery.  For his career, Burlee played in 32 career games, recording 52 tackles.

Unholz received third team honors after notching second team laurels as a junior.  The defensive lineman started all 10 games and posted 35 tackles, including 6.5 tackles for a loss (-22).  He also had a shared sack (-4), one forced fumble and one breakup.  Unholz played in 41 games during his career, totaling 126 tackles and 20 tackles for a loss.

Thompson garnered third team honors for the second straight year as a cornerback.  He finished the 2013 season with 46 tackles, including five tackles for a loss (-12).  He also posted two interceptions with five pass breakups and one fumble recovery.  Over his four seasons, Thompson played in all 42 games, totaling 152 tackles, 14 pass breakups and three interceptions.

Barr played in nine games, starting the final seven games of the season at inside linebacker.  He finished fifth on the team in tackles with 49 total stops, including 3.0 tackles for a loss (-4).  He also had one sack and one pass breakup.

In other top awards, Randolph-Macon senior running back Will McGhee was named the J. Stokeley Fulton Offensive Player of the Year, while senior linebacker Trevor Ikwild of Hampden-Sydney was selected as the Lou Wacker Defensive Player of the Year.  H-SC Head Coach Marty Favret was named the ODAC Coach of the Year for the fifth time, and Emory & Henry senior quarterback Kyle Boden was chosen the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the second time in as many seasons.

Washington and Lee completed the 2013 season with a 5-5 overall record and a 3-4 mark in conference play.

-- http://www.generalssports.com --